Pay a Bill View Medical Records BDCH Events Surgical Services Find a Phone Number Rehabilitation Make a Donation Apply for a Job CARDIOVASCULAR PROVIDERS Find a Provider ORTHOPEDIC Pediatric Schedule a Appointment Primary Care Womens Health Emergency Fill our a Form Medical Insurance Payment Assistance


Recognizing BDCH Team Members

The Sunflower Award is a quarterly award program that recognizes, honors, and celebrates team members who are in a non-registered nurse role (i.e. Therapist, Teacher, CNA, Tech, MA, Housekeeper, LPN, other administrative roles, etc.). Honorees are recognized as outstanding role models who consistently demonstrate excellence through teamwork, respect, a positive attitude, exemplary communication, and knowledge. The actions of honorees help to enhance the remarkable experience at BDCH.

BDCH is proud to offer this award to non-nurse team members!



Who is Eligible for the Sunflower Award?

Sunflower Award recipients are team members (other than registered nurses) who consistently demonstrate excellence through:

  • Teamwork
  • Respect
  • Having a positive attitude
  • Positive interactions and relationships
  • Exemplary Communication
  • Promoting Optimism
  • Knowledge

If you choose to share your story, be sure to indicate how the team member made a difference by demonstrating each (or several) of these characteristics.


What Do Sunflower Award Honorees Receive?

Each Sunflower Award Honoree will be recognized at a public ceremony in his/her department and will receive:

  • A framed certificate
  • A copy of their nomination
  • A Sunflower Award Pin & badge tag
  • A custom laser-engraved award

Additionally, everyone in the department will celebrate with a treat. 


How Can You Nominate an Extraordinary BDCH Team Member?

Patients, family members, visitors, staff, volunteers and physicians can nominate a team member! Simply click the “Nomination Form” button below, or fill out a paper nomination form. Paper nomination forms are located throughout the hospital. Completed paper nomination forms should be returned to Human Resources (Attn: Shirley Jahn).